# Roles

Roles define a specific set of access permissions, and are the primary organizational structure for Users within the platform. Learn more about Roles.

# Creating a Role

  1. Navigate to Settings > Roles & Permissions
  2. Click the Create Role action button in the header
  3. Enter a unique Role Name
  4. Enabling App Access allows logging in to the App
  5. Enabling Admin Access gives full permission to project data and Settings

# Configuring a Role

  • Permissions — Defines the role's access permissions
  • Role Name — This is the name of the role
  • Role Icon — The icon used throughout the App when referencing this role
  • Description — A helpful note that explains the role's purpose
  • App Access — Allows logging in to the App
  • Admin Access — Gives full permission to project data and Settings
  • IP Access — An allow-list of IP addresses from which the platform can be accessed, empty allows all
  • Require 2FA — Forces all users within this role to use two-factor authentication
  • Users in Role — A list of all users within this role
  • Module Navigation — Overrides the visible modules
  • Collection Navigation — Overrides the collection module's navigation

# Customizing the Module Navigation

The options in the Module Bar can be overridden with custom options per role. When this setting is empty, the default modules are used.

  1. Navigate to Settings > Roles & Permissions > [Role Name]
  2. Scroll to the Module Navigation field
  3. Click the Add a new item button to add a module
  4. Choose an Icon to display for the module
  5. Choose a Name for the module
  6. Enter a relative (App) or absolute (external) link for the module
  7. Use the drag handles to drag-and-drop the modules into the desired order

If you are looking to replicate the default modules, paste the following configuration into the Module Navigation field using the Raw Value field label option.

[
	{
		"icon": "box",
		"name": "Collections",
		"link": "/collections"
	},
	{
		"icon": "people_alt",
		"name": "User Directory",
		"link": "/users"
	},
	{
		"icon": "folder",
		"name": "File Library",
		"link": "/files"
	},
	{
		"icon": "info",
		"name": "Documentation",
		"link": "/docs"
	}
]

Settings Module

The settings module is not controlled by this configuration. It is always added to the end of the list for any user's with Admin Access.

Customizing Existing Modules

You can enter the link to an existing module to customize its name or icon. For example, you can use /collections to override the Collections module.

# Customizing the Collection Navigation

The collections in the Navigation Bar can be overridden with custom options per role. When this setting is empty, all collections that the user has permission to see are shown alphabetically in a single, unlabeled group.

  1. Navigate to Settings > Roles & Permissions > [Role Name]
  2. Scroll to the Collection Navigation field
  3. Click the Add New Group button to add a Grouping
  4. Enter a Group Name, or leave it empty to simply show a divider
  5. Choose if the group's Accordion will be...
    • Always Open (Default)
    • Start Open
    • Start Collapsed
  6. Click the Add New Collection button to add a Collection
  7. Choose a Collection from the dropdown
  8. Use the drag handles to drag-and-drop the groups/collections into the desired order

# Deleting a Role

  1. Navigate to Settings > Roles & Permissions > [Role Name]
  2. Click the red Delete Role action button in the header
  3. Confirm this decision by clicking Delete in the dialog

Users in a Deleted Role

If you delete a role that still has users in it, those users will be given a NULL role, which denies their App access and limits them to the Public Role permissions. They can then be reassigned to a new role by an admin.

Last Admin

You must maintain at least one role/user with Admin Access so that you can still properly manage the project.

Public Role

You can not delete the Public role, as it is part of the core platform. To disable it completely, simply turn off all Public access permissions.