Skip to content
On this page

Item Page

The Item Page is a tailored form for managing Items and their Field values. This page also includes options for archiving, reverting, and commenting on an Item.

Programmatically Manage Items

This page shows you how to manage Items within the no-code app. However, you can also manage Items programmatically via the API.

Create an Item

To create an Item, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Content Module and select the desired Collection.
  2. Click add in the Page Header to open the Item Page.
  3. Fill in Item details as desired.
  4. Click check in the Page Header.

Singletons

If the collection is configured as a Singleton in the data model settings, the App will skip step two above and automatically open the Item Page.

Edit an Item

To edit an Item's field values, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Content Module and select the desired Collection.
  2. Click on the desired Item to open the Item Page.
  3. Update Item details as desired.
  4. Click check in the header.

Other Save Options

To the right of the primary Save button, there is a more_vert menu that contains the following alternate save options:

check Save and Stay (⌘S)
add Save and Create New (⌘⇧S)
done_all Save as Copy
undo Discard all Changes

Singletons

If the Collection is configured as a "Singleton" in Data Model Settings, then the App will skip step two above and automatically open the Item Page.

Advanced Save Options

To do an advanced save when you create or edit an item, follow these steps.

  1. Begin to create an item or edit an item.
  2. Click more_vert to open the context menu.
  3. Click to choose your advanced save method. You have four options:
    • Save and Stay
    • Save and Create New
    • Save as Copy
    • Discard all Changes

Archive an Item

To archive an Item, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Content Module and select the desired Collection.
  2. Select the desired Item to open the Item Page.
  3. Click archive located in the header and a popup will appear.
  4. Click "Archive" to confirm the action.

Requires Configuration

Requires an Archive field to be configured within the Collection's data model settings.

Revert an Item

As you update Field Values on Items, Directus saves these Revisions, and they can be compared side-by-side to the current state. To revert an Item, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Content Module and select the desired Collection.
  2. Select the desired Item to open the Item Page.
  3. Click "Revisions" in the page sidebar.
  4. Click on the revision you wish to preview and a side menu will appear.
  5. Go to "Revisions Made" in the side menu and view the revision differences.
  6. Click restore to revert the Item's values and return to the Item Page.
  7. Click check to confirm and exit to the Collection Page.

Revision Preview

You will also see a "Revision Preview" button in the side menu navigation, which will let you preview all the Item's values for that revision.

TIP

You can also revert Items programmatically via the API.

Comment on an Item

Comments is a collaborative tool that are left on an Item in the sidebar and remain there for you and other team members to view. To create a comment, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Content Module and select the desired Collection.
  2. Select the desired Item to open the Item Page.
  3. Click "Comments" in the page sidebar.
  4. Type your message into the input box.
  5. Click the "Submit" button.

Mentions

You can also search and mention any User by typing the "@" symbol along with their name or email to send an in-app notification, as well as an email directing them to your comment.

Edit and Delete Comments

Each comment displays the time it was created in its upper right-hand corner. Hover over this and the more_horiz menu will appear. Click edit to edit or delete to delete the comment.

Delete an Item

To delete an Item, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Content Module and select the desired Collection.
  2. Select the desired Item to open the Item Page.
  3. Click delete located in the header and a popup will appear.
  4. Click "Delete" to confirm the action.

Soft-Delete

If you wish to remove an Item from view or use without fully deleting it, consider archiving the Item instead.